Romeo journal entry

This day is one of the worst I have ever experienced. Juliet, my one true love, joined with me in marriage, I was so happy. I thought our marriage could fix the bond between our two families. But alas, not yet a day later, I’d gone and done something horrible. Poor old Mercutio was killed by Tybalt… and it was all my fault. What did brave Mercutio do to deserve this? It was just a silly party. If I had only told him how I felt, or if I had only joined in the fight. I was so enraged about my friend… I killed Tybalt. I was a fool. Why did I have to kill him? Everything could have gone so nicely, I could have halted the feud and tightened the bond between our families; but I killed Tybalt. I should never had tried to break them up. If I had just let them fight, perhaps Mercutio would never have been surprised by me, he may have been able to defeat Tybalt. Even after Mercutio’s death, I could have stopped all the fighting by sparing Tybalt. It’s all my fault. I was weak, I couldn’t stop Tybalt. Then I killed him. Why was I so foolish?
What will become of Juliet? Will she hate me? I killed her cousin, how could she ever forgive me for what I’ve done? No, we’re in love… surely she will stay with me, but even if she does, what will the Capulets think of me? I killed Tybalt… their dear Tybalt. They’ll never come to accept my love for Juliet after what I’d done. Oh, what if the prince finds me? I’ll be put to death no later than the sun will set. We should just run away. Juliet and I… we’ll escape town. What am I saying? They’ll look for me. They’ll find me and Juliet… The prince, the Capulets, what have I done? If Juliet can’t forgive me, who can? I just want to get away with Juliet… I wish I could have done something. I wish I hadn’t been so blind.

What will my fellow Montagues think? No doubt Benvolio now hates me for what I’ve done. I let Mercutio die, so what will my family think of me? I’m a traitor in their eyes, a murderer. Would they hate me for letting Mercutio die, or will they be proud of me for killing Tybalt? I can’t picture which is worse. I can’t imagine, my own family, congratulating me for bringing about my own demise. They’d never accept my love for Juliet either.

I need to find Juliet. If anything, I can apologize to her. It is the very least I can do after disgracing her family, not to mention my own. Somehow, if she still loves me, we can get away together. Our names mean nothing anymore, we can run away together, start a new family, and we’ll never speak of the Montagues or Capulets ever again. Oh, but what about the Friar, and the nurse? They’ll be worried sick if we disappear, they will think we’ve been executed. Perhaps we could just tell them our plans, they would support us… I hope. I don’t want to live in hiding, in fear of being found and executed. What am I ever going to do?

1 thought on “Romeo journal entry

  1. Aidan, you’ve done a great job of capturing the despair young Romeo would be feeling right now. He’s sort of an overly-emotional guy anyway, based on his emo sulking at not being able to claim Rosaline, his almost-girlfriend! You’ve touched on a lot of the worries I think he clearly would have – regret, despair, hope, fear. You’ve done really well with this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *